Modern American–Modern Agriculture

I am BACCCCK! Ok maybe not for real, but I had a minute, so I thought I would get a blog posted.

I have been neglecting my social media…”life” recently. I have been reading what I have time for, and I picked up on this article that the U.S. Farmers and Ranchers Alliance posted on Facebook. The article was written by Steve Chapman, who is a member of the Chicago Tribune’s editorial board and blogs at chicagotribune.com/chapman. The article is titled:

Investigating a pig’s life

A firsthand look at modern swine production

Awesome, it perked my attention. Maybe I read it wrong, but I took it as he wrote this from a very framed perspective, the side that supports animal activist groups such as HSUS and PETA. Heck, I might be wrong, but that is how I read it.

Something to keep in mind, he doesn’t mention that pigs will eat their young, if you didn’t know this fact you do now.

Also, the whole point of this blog is based around a conversation I have been having with several people lately. Americans has pushed for a modernized society since the Industrial Revolution. American’s are efficient and effective; I was raised to be this way. Were you? I am OCD about approaching projects, moving across the country….any thing I do with the “what is the most efficient, effective way to do this?” mind set. So why shouldn’t agriculture production be any different?

Why shouldn’t we encourage MODERN
agricultural production practices?

Why are people romanticizing agriculture and food production?

 

2 thoughts on “Modern American–Modern Agriculture

Leave a Reply

