National Ag Day

March 8, 2012 marks National Ag Day!

Have you given thanks for all those (Agriculture employs 14% of the U.S. workforce, or about 21 million people) who are making your clothes, prepacking your food products, process food products, and working in the production facilities that produce just about everything that you use in your modern day life? 

I have, I am also thankful for all of those who gave me the blessing in life to be raised on a small cattle operation, where I learned more skills than I can list. I also gained the skills to persevere through the hard days; cause life is just not fair.

I went to a bible study this week with a dear friend of mine; we were discussing the book of James. A fitting verse appeared in the discussion, “Be patient, then, brother, until the Lord’s coming. See how the farmer waits for the land to yield its valuable crop and how patient he is for the autumn and spring rains” James 5:7.

I have pondered over that verse for a few days and I love it. It can be used in so many contexts of life. Literally, I am living in West Texas right now, which is one of the most drought stricken areas of the country, and I am not sure how much long farmers will be patient, but they will. The rains will come, I know it, they have too. And this is true in all forms of agricultural production, nothing than is ensured, ole’ Mother Nature is going to do what she want to do when she wants to do.

Again, I am grateful for my ability to be flexible.

Another favorite quote by Thomas Jefferson, who was a pioneering agriculturist, reads: “Agriculture is our wisest pursuit, because it will, in the end, contribute most to real wealth, good morals and happiness.”

So go do something crazy and celebrate National Ag Day, but remember its always National Ag Day, and that living in the United States has given us bountiful opportunities to expand our knowledge and grow agricultural production to the level it is today.

And my new favorite quote of the day via Ray Prock, “Its National Ag Day, have you hugged a consumer!” 

National Ag Day Video Essay Winning Video

Leave a Reply

