R-E-S-P-E-C-T Agriculture

As a blogger, a user of social media, a disseminator of agricultural news and information, a student, and a human I value respect.

Respect by definition is a feeling of deep admiration for someone or something elicited by their abilities, qualities, or achievements. Or it can be used as a verb instead of a noun, meaning to admire (someone or something) deeply, as a results of their abilities, qualities, or achievements.

Now, what I take that mean in real life is to give people a chance to speak their part, opening doors for others when they have ten children and a shopping cart, letting other express their emotions as need be, and whatever else that parents instilled into me as a sign of respect.  Agriculturally speaking, I respect the land by not treating it like dirt, I respect my animals by ensuring that their health, nutrition and care is to the highest standards, I respect the safety of others who may have to deal with my small agricultural operation by maintaining fences, keeping creeks and spring clean and fenced for erosion purposes, take down unnecessary brush, trees or other fire hazards, maintain our road, and the list goes on and on. And at the current moment, all of this credit goes to my amazing Mother, but in reality that what we are all striving for right?

One of the greatest rights that this country has given us as American citizens is the right of free speech. This right is one that I value to the highest level of governmental rights. Those of you who know me well or those of you who don’t and have read a few posts probably have guessed that I am strong headed and I am going to tell you how I see it. I have been told by a past employer, that I could work on being a little less harsh and padding the truth a little when the situation call for it. But I see it as the truth is the truth, so call it like it is.

Now the truth in my opinion may be complete different from yours, or anyone else’s for that fact, but I like to at least think I will give just about anyone the opportunity to explain how they see a situation.

Yet in the popular press, and those with other opinions about modern agriculture and the society that is built upon it (meaning modern agriculture) are being completely disrespectful to those who are involved in the numerous industries are feeding, clothing, and supporting basic life for them.

Examples: February 11th Many Moods of Vince Daniels Radio Show—where Dr. David Daley of CSU Chico engages in a conversation with a vegetarian and vegan. Listen to the conversation from minute 97:00 to the end of the show; it is long, but worth the listen.

The second example is of a agriculture communicator from Ohio who was repeatedly disrespected by a employee of Chipolte in an effort to show her that the picture she was “framing” to 8th graders was false.

I will keep saying it, but I believe it:

Food is a personal, and emotional choice, with that I hope we all remember respect is key to understanding other peoples’ views on the world, agriculture, and food.

Becker Place--Union, Oregon. The Becker family has worked dilligencently to control the water, cattle, and ground in this area. It looks better and better every year, with the return of wild life, and even a few white face cows are present.

2 thoughts on “R-E-S-P-E-C-T Agriculture

Leave a comment