Lessons Learned–Animal Agriculture

Lessons learned. Some days they are harder to learn than others, and I am like so many people, I will let my emotions stand in the way of common sense.

I am guilty of this more times than I can count, of raising my voice, becoming angry, and the standard Maddee raging moment. I like to think I have grown up that I am working on containing these emotions when I enter a conversation, reading, or hearing something that I have a strong opinion about. Animal agriculture is main topic that will send me into a flurry of rage.

Amanda Radke of BEEF Today posted to the Beef Daily Blog a report done by Truffle Media about the Humane Society of the United State’s (HSUS) social-media strategies by Carie Lewis, who is the director of emerging media for the organization. If you are not familiar with the mission of this anti-animal agriculture group, they are what Radke called “a wolf sheep’s clothing”. The organization has set an agenda, and is not against using every means to accomplish their strict agenda.

The Truffle Media report Lewis showcased HSUS social-media strategies:

1. Be where people are.

2. Stay on top of the latest trends.

3. Research new opportunities.

4. Train staff and have guidelines.

5. Take an integrated approach.

6. Measure everything.

7. Learn from others and adapt.

8. Showcase successes.

9. Listen.

10. Be transparent.

11. Respond to everyone.

12. Don’t be afraid to fail.

13. Learn from mistakes.

All of these “strategies” are exactly what is being taught in public relations classes across the country. My question is agriculture utilizing these “strategies” to their fullest potential? And how do we create a united front for animal agriculture?

This all leads into a discussion that started on my Facebook page this week, a gentleman that I met at a leadership conference as a sophomore in high school commented on a video that I had posted from NCBA President Bill Donald about sustainability in the beef industry. This gentleman sits on the other side of the political spectrum from me, but I thoroughly enjoy following him on Facebook, he is involved in politics and a major national leadership organization. So there is a lot to be taken from what he has to say. Either way, he posted two comments; both were biased and uneducated statements in my opinion. Me stereotyping–he is the typical American who does not much or anything about where is food really comes from. I responded quickly to the first response, but I knew I needed sources to back up my statements for his follow up comment.

Thankfully, the power of social media I was directed to Mallorie Wilken, who was able to guide me to three sources that state the latest methane research in the beef industry.

Research compares impact of cattle production from 1977 to 2007

Improvement in Beef Industry Sustainability

Grass vs. Corn: Which is better for the environment?

Also, I made myself sit on my response, so I could better plan my wording, in hopes of not appearing as a raging cow-lover. Respect is a key to making a point and gaining trust with someone who may not believe in a cause that you are fighting for, right? I hope that I did portray respect in not attacking him in my response, maybe I did, maybe I didn’t.

That is my soap box for the day, be respectful and take the time to explain animal agriculture to those who may not fully understand the standard practices and always cite your sources.

4 thoughts on “Lessons Learned–Animal Agriculture

  1. Pingback: The Agriculturalist are coming! « Under the Crown of Agriculture

Leave a Reply

