That one Hereford cow

Well, I have been neglecting my blog for sometime do to my school load this semester. Also, my thesis has been consuming a quite a bit of my time, funny thing is that my thesis is focused on agricultural blogs….for some reason not blogging, but studying blogs feels like an oxymoron.

I had a fellow agricultural blogger help me last night pilot test my question guide, I think it was a success! I had a lot of fun chatting with Marie about social media and agriculture. Check out her blog! Our discussion gave me some inspiration to get back on the blogging bandwagon some excitement for my thesis.

My class work this semester has been heavily focused on public relations and dealing with crisis situations within agriculture. Needless to say we all know I am giant nerd, and I have loved every minute of it. I have complained a lot about the workload of my PR class, but I have taken so much from this class. I wouldn’t mind dabbling with a career based in agricultural PR for a while.

I had the realization this morning as I was reading a dear friends blog posting how my life was really set into motion with my first Hereford heifer that went on to be a highly productive cow. Granted I am still young, but I know I would not be writing this blog from my desk as an intern for the world largest cotton-marketing cooperative in Texas if I had not tried to campaign that heifer. I am so thankful for the opportunities that she brought into my life and my parents always wanting to say no, but I always found away round that answer.

I am very excited to be heading to Reno for the Western Nugget Hereford Show and Sale this week. It is my favorite show, no questions asked. If you have not seen the gold curtain rise over the white faces of the sale cattle, you are missing out!  It’s a preview for Denver, but with a lot less hype with a giant community atmosphere. I am also thrilled to see three bulls in particular, along with my family that I didn’t get to spend Thanksgiving with.

Current AG issue that needs support, the child labor laws will greatly affect the family ranching and farming operations throughout the country. Make sure your voice is heard! I have written my letter to my congressmen, I hope that you follow.

Blogs to check out:

Sheep Camp Shennanigans

Western Wind

Oregon Green  

One upset heifer calf

Leave a Reply

