Healthy Cookies, Maybe!

If I can find away to cut fat or calories from a food item you bet I will! My first college roommate is a dietitian and loves to experiment with food. I will admit I am not as adventurous as she is, but this recipe I think will take me up a level or two in her book. She first turned me on to using apple sauce for an oil subistute, which I have embraced as well with this recipe and its soooo good!

I was reading a news blip on MSN that said that you can substitute avocados in cookies and cut the butter in half, I was intrigued Avocado and Chocolate Pudding Cookiesby this. I vividly remember working a up sets of reasons in junior college staring at a case that the biology department had put together of the fat in foods. They had so nicely portrayed the amount of fat in avocados to that of a Burger King Whopper. I was disgusted by that, but knew that avocados were full of “good fat” or mono and polyunsaturated fat.

Well I think they are healthy, they really might not be at all, but they are sure good and I feel good about eating them! This recipe was given to me from my one of my many second Mothers, she still makes them way better than I do!

1 C. Butter or Margarine, softened or 1/2 C. butter
1 Avocado, softened (I would let it set out on the counter for a day or so before using)
3/4 C Brown Sugar
1/4 Sugar (I use Splenda)
1 Package (3.4 ounces) Instant Pudding (Chocolate or Vanilla), I also used the sugar free pudding
2 Eggs
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
2-1/4 C Flour (I used half white flour and half whole-wheat flour)
2 C (12 Ounces) Semisweet Chocolate Chips
1 C Walnuts, finely chopped (Only if you want too!)

In a mixing bowl, cream butter, avocado, sugars and pudding mix. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Combine flour and baking soda; gradually add to the creamed mixture. Stir in chocolate chips and walnuts (dough will be stiff). Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheets. Remove to wire racks to cool.

Yields: 4 dozen delicious cookies.

Side note, the avocado will make the batter really green, so I opted use chocolate pudding to cover that up.

2 thoughts on “Healthy Cookies, Maybe!

  1. Lynette

    Just in case Maddee’s readers need a testimonial – She brought these cookies to work for us to try and they were fantastic! Normally, knowing an avocado was an ingredient in the chocolate cookies plopped in front of me would cause me to re-think taking a big bite with my morning coffee, but I hated to hurt the feelings of a fragile intern, so I gave it a try. I must admit that I was pleasantly surprised! We ended up eating the entire bag of cookies before the day was done. Thanks Maddee!

    Reply
    1. Maddee Post author

      I was scared too of something so foreign, a cookie with a vegetable listed as a main ingredient? With the first cookie, I had the night prior to bringing them into the office, I knew there was enough chocolate to make anyone happy! Happy and healthy munching!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

